Lets talk WorPress

WordPress is a very popular platform world-wide.  I never met anyone that’s online, even newbies, that never heard of WordPress at some level.

WordPress is a blog oriented platform.  You can use it as a website but it as its limitations.

You can choose from a wide variety of free themes that can be mildly customized such as;

  • What appears in your left and right side bars (widgets)
  • Your header picture
  • Your background color, font and links
  • Font type
  • Comment options
  • Social media buttons
  • Insert pictures in your posts
  • And more….

Then you can choose from a very nice collections of themes that you can purchase. Those themes give more leeway to customizing your page however, even if it gives you more freedom, it still have some limitations. With those themes what I found a bit overwhelming is that some aspect as to be customized from your WP admin pages and others from the theme admin. The hardest part is to figure out which one is affected by whom!

The trick is really to play with it. For example it took me a while to figure out that the template I’m using “ARI” does not allow the left margin to scroll down its static. So if I put more widget in my “Primary side bar” it goes lower than the screen and you can’t see it. It seems like nothing but, it took me a while to realize that I had to switch the excess in the “Secondary side bar”. I had to try it and go back to my blog to see what it did!  Hey! you can call me slow but, if I had a hard time figuring it out I’m sure I’m not the only one :)

If you have some HTML/CSS knowledge you definitely have access to more!

One very positive aspect of WorPress is that you can use another hosting company if you wish. For someone like me and my husband, it’s great because we have our own IT company and introducing web design means that we will be able to profit from the web hosting aspect as well. On top of developing that portion of passive revenue, it gives us more control in terms of customer service, web security and data management. It also allows you to switch companies if you are not happy with the one you have without having to rebuild your website from scratch.

I hope this helps!

About annielle25
Welcome on my Blog! The purpose of this blog is simply to document my researches about different website creation and blog platforms for my-self and for others. After spending over a year looking for the best tricks to promote my online business, I realized that for someone with no web coding language and/or SEO konwledge, it can get overwhelming to make that first step of creating your own website or blog! WordPress is new for me so this blog will be evolving following my learning curve. I will be also blogging about other platform that I'm currently using or in the process of studying. Soon I will update my blog page with information on how to index a website or blog so you can learn also how SEO works and how to make sens of all the information we are bombarded with on the web. I hope you will enjoy following me and that this blog will be helpful to many. Fell free to leave your comments about what I'm doing or questions. I will answer you to the best of my knowledge or direct you to the proper information if I can't. Happy reading!

13 Responses to Lets talk WorPress

  1. Somebody essentially lend a hand to make severely articles I might state. That is the very first time I frequented your web page and up to now? I amazed with the analysis you made to make this actual submit incredible. Wonderful activity!

  2. Wow that was strange. I just wrote an extremely
    long comment but after I clicked submit my comment didn’t appear. Grrrr… well I’m not writing all that over again.
    Anyway, just wanted to say wonderful blog!

    • annielle25 says:

      I’m sorry about that! I would’ve love to see your original post… That being said, thanks you for taking the time to right a new one :)

  3. Dear Webmaster! I just discovered your Blog and all the interesting and useful Information that you provide but I also found out that your Blog posts are not really optimized for the corresponding keywords and topics you are writing about. If you are interested you could try one of these WordPress SEO Plugins [http://bit.ly/VPj8BL] that automatically makes small alterations to your Posts to gain visibility in the Search Engines like Google, which will provide you with more organic and free visitors and therefore increases your potential revenue and exposure. Take a look and if you encounter any problems or questions send me an email. Have a nice day!

    • annielle25 says:

      Thank you very much for the information, I will certainly look into it as SEO is another topic I would like to learn and cover on this blog! Cheers to you!

  4. q7bgRwImN2 says:

    999200 455921Id forever want to be update on new posts on this site , bookmarked ! . 538947

  5. very good submit, i definitely love this web site, carry on it

  6. We are a gaggle of volunteers and starting a new scheme in our community.
    Your site provided us with helpful information to work on.

    You have performed an impressive activity and our whole community shall be grateful to you.

  7. I got this web page from my friend who shared with me about this web page and now this time I am visiting this website and reading very informative articles or
    reviews here.

  8. Having read this I thought it was really enlightening.
    I appreciate you taking the time and energy to put this informative article together.
    I once again find myself spending way too much time both reading and leaving comments.
    But so what, it was still worthwhile!

  9. French Wine says:

    Howdy are using WordPress for your blog platform?
    I’m new to the blog world but I’m trying to get
    started and create my own. Do you require any html coding expertise to make your own blog?
    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  10. achromatic says:

    I’m studying at University of Florida and I would like to express my appreciation for your help toward those who seek help with this particular subject. You have put in an enormous level of commitment into these solutions, and it has allowed scholars in our field to obtain great benefits. Your worthwhile help and advice will mean much to me and much more to my peers.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

